Book Club

About Book Club

The Integrated Schools Book Club is a way for people from across the country to come together and discuss books, articles, videos, and podcasts pertaining to school integration. While the conversations are geared for parents, everyone is welcome.

We meet via video-conference and keep the sessions small so that everyone has a chance to talk — this is not a webinar!  There is no cost to attend — you need only internet access at the time of the meeting (and if you don’t have access to a computer with a camera, no worries).

 How Book Club Works

  • Register using the links on this page (you’ll be emailed a confirmation with simple instructions for how to log in to the video conference)
  • Invite your friends! Post on your social media!
  • Get ahold of the book/ readings/ podcast/ videos
  • Read/ Listen/ View (do your homework)
  • Join the video-conference discussion at the scheduled time and talk!

Join us in February for the next Integrated Schools Book Club discussion!

We will be reading Children of the Dream by Rucker Johnson with Alexander Nazaryan

Our followers will recognize Dr. Johnson and his work as he has been a guest on the Integrated Schools podcast. This book has been on our to-read list for a long time and we are excited to share it with you!

About the book (from the publisher’s website):

An acclaimed economist reveals that school integration efforts in the 1970s and 1980s were overwhelmingly successful — and argues that we must renew our commitment to integration for the sake of all Americans.

We are frequently told that school integration was a social experiment doomed from the start. But as Rucker C. Johnson demonstrates in Children of the Dream, it was, in fact, a spectacular achievement. Drawing on longitudinal studies going back to the 1960s, he shows that students who attended integrated and well-funded schools were more successful in life than those who did not — and this held true for children of all races.

Yet as a society we have given up on integration. Since the high point of integration in 1988, we have regressed and segregation again prevails. Contending that integrated, well-funded schools are the primary engine of social mobility, Children of the Dream offers a radical new take on social policy. It is essential reading in our divided times.”

 

Register to join in the discussion by clicking the date/time that works for you:

Tuesday, February 23 5pm PT / 8pm ET

Thursday, February 25 9am PT / 12pm ET

Saturday, February 27 9am PT / 12pm ET

Tuesday, March 2, 8pm PT / 11pm ET

We are thrilled to continue our partnership with IndieBound – a community of local, independent bookstores. If you use our affiliate link to buy the book or any other books, not only will you be supporting a local, independent book store, but a portion of the proceeds will also come back to Integrated Schools.

Check out our previous Book Clubs to see what else we’ve been reading!